Animation Mini Project – The Analysis

Today I started producing some animations, experiencing Adobe Flash properly for the first time was a very tedious experience as the animations that I started off with were separate drawings in each frame using the onion skin tool to help me keep the drawings similar but allow the movement to happen. To learn some of these techniques I just talked about I went through some simple tutorials to get a base understanding of Flash and how it works in relation to Animation, Below is one of the tutorials and this simply shows how to animate the movement of a circle and from these tutorial and experimenting I started to understand the layout of this program.

After researching I started to come up with some simple ideas that I thought wouldn’t be too complicated to animate. I decided that my animations would be themed around flat and limited colour palette style as it is a simple and flat style, this first idea for an animation that I produced was a music levels system where there is a set amount bars where each bar represents a different form of sound for example one would represent bass. This animation also fit into my theme as the animation used only a few colours and a flat design . As just an experimental piece of I thought creating these levels would be very easy but found out that I was still very time consuming and this was because each second is filled by 12 frames so to make anything substantial you have to fill out a big amount of frames. The finished level animation product is below:

 

Before I made a final product I decided to do another animation something a little bit more challenging this time I did a mini firework animation. I the process of making this animation I used a few more tools in flash like the motion tween. Even though I had already done an animation I didn’t really find making this animation any easier but I found the quality of the end product was slightly better. The use of different sized objects appearing at different times made it more visually appealing as you can see below.

Leave a Reply

